Skip to content

Are You For Me Or Against Me?

March 24, 2010

—Fay Foster.

“ARE you for me or against me?”
Asked the flag as it went by.
“We are for you; we are for you,”
Said the people in reply.
“We are ready when you need us,
We will follow where you lead us,
We have pledged our heart’s devotion,”
Said the people in reply.
 
“Are you for us, or against us?”
Came the question of the stars.
“By the war clouds dark above us,
By our old wounds and our scars,
We are for you now and ever;
Bonds of love no foe can sever
Hold us fast and bind us to you!”
Said the people to the stars.
 
“Are you for us or against us?”
Asked the white stripes and the red.
“By the great hearts of our heroes,
By the blood that they have shed,
We are for you! Doubt it never!
We are for you now and ever
And our gold and strength and service
All are yours!” the people said.
 
“I shall take your heart’s desire,
And your wealth of gold and land:
I shall take your soul’s ambition
And your work of heart and hand:
I shall take away your dearest,
Your best beloved and nearest:
Are you for me or against me?”
Asked the flag as it went by.
 
“God be with you; we are for you!”
Said the people in reply.

 

Comments are closed.